Skip to content

J. Calvin Giddings Lectureship

jcgProfessor J. Calvin Giddings was a graduate of Brigham Young University, earned his Ph.D. under Henry Eyring at the University of Utah in 1954, and did postdoctoral work at the University of Wisconsin. He joined the faculty of the University of Utah in 1957. Among analytical chemists, Professor Giddings was best known as a pioneer in chromatography and separations, particularly in theory and teaching. Giddings established the journal Separation Science and Technology and was editor for over 30 years. He authored over 400 scientific publications, including the theoretical landmark books Dynamics of Chromatography, and Unified Separation Science, widely used in graduate-level separation courses. He also invented Field Flow Fractionation and led the way in its development and application.

Read here for more about Professor J. Calvin Giddings:

Giddings, M.C., Giddings, S.P., Clark, L.J., Fuhriman, I.T., Packer, R.G., Thomson, W.C., Sindelar, J., Brown, P.R., Grushka, E., Knox, J.H., Novotny, M.V., Lochmueller, C.H., Ettre, L.S., Lee, M.L., Eyring, T., Kirkland, J., Karger, B.L., Yang, F.J., Martin, M., King, J.W., Thompson, G.H., Shin, H.K., Fuller, E.N., Wahlund, K.-G., Gardella, J.A., Jr., Reschiglian, P., Andreev, V.P. and Davis, J. (1997), Tributes to J. Calvin Giddings. J. Micro. Sep., 9: 123-150.


Giddings Colloquium Lectures:

Marc Koper, Leiden University - How to make green hydrogen, March 11, 2024 & How to understand rates of electrocatalytic reactions, March 12, 2024

Heather C. Allen, Ohio State University- Informing Ocean and Atmospheric Aerosol Chemistry: Interfacial Organization and Inherent Electric Fields at Aqueous Surfaces, May 1, 2023 

Scott McLuckey, Purdue University - Structural Characterization of Lipids, Nucleic Acids, Proteins, and Molecular Machines using Ion/Ion Chemistry, November 16, 2021

Jeanne Pemberton, University of Arizona - Fun with Sugars: Some Mundane and Not-So-Mundane New Materials from Glycolipids, February 21, 2020

Robert M. Corn, UC-Irvine - Nanostructured Mesoscale Optical Materials, September 27, 2018

Héctor Abruña, Cornell University - Operando Methods for The Study of Energy Materials, February 22, 2018

Héctor Abruña, Cornell University - The Energy Landscape in the Age of Sustainability, February 23, 2018

Robert J. Hamers, U. of Wisconsin-Madison - Surfaces: The work of the devil? September 22, 2015

Mary Wirth, Purdue University - Chromatography: the transport processes that make it work, March 27, 2014

Mary Wirth, Purdue University - Submicrometer silica particles in protein electrophoresis, March 25, 2014

Norm Dovichi, University of Notre Dame - Chemical Cytometry - the Analysis of the Content of Single Cells, April 27, 2012

Norm Dovichi, University of Notre Dame - The Role of Analytical Chemistry in Sequencing the Human Genome, April 26, 2012

Zhong-Qun Tian, Xiamen University - Electrochemical Surface-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy: Past, Present and Future, October 06, 2010

Zhong-Qun Tian, Xiamen University- n Nanostructure-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy: Towards a Versatile Analytical Strategy, October 04, 2010

Phil Bartlett, University of Southampton - Nanoplasmonics: From Physics to DNA Diagnostics, March 31, 2008

Richard Zare, Stanford University - Making it Count: Quantitation of Low-Copy-Number Proteins n Single Cells, September 19, 2006 

Milos Novotny, Indiana University  - Analytical Glycobiology:  a Methodological Frontier, February 7, 2001

Milos Novotny, Indiana University  - Exploring the Limits of Separating Power:  A Scientific Legacy of J. Calvin Giddings, February 6, 2001


The Chemistry Department at the University of Utah acknowledges the donors and sponsors who generously supported the endowment of the J. Calvin Giddings Lectureship.

Individual Donors:

Dr. Maria Anna Benincasa
Dr. and Ms. Steven L. Brimhall
Dr. Phyllis R. Brown
Dr. Charles M. Carlson
Mr. and Ms. Grant Cottam
Mr. Jerry S. Dixon
Dr. Edward N. Fuller
Dr. Robert Hargrove
Dr. Barry Karger
Mr. and Mrs. Harold R. Lewis
Dr. Robert W. Parry
Dr. Marja-Liisa Riekkola
Dr. Spencer L. Seager
Dr. Hyung K. Shin
Dr. P. Stephen Williams
Dr. George A. Williams

Corporate Sponsors:

Allied-Signal Foundation
Duke Scientific Corporation
Monash University
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
Rohm and Haas Company
University of Helsinki
Water Studies Centre, Monash University
Wyatt Technology Corporation


Last Updated: 3/5/24