Skip to content

Stang-Burrows-Sessler Lectureship

                      Peter Stang                                                        Cynthia Burrows                                                        Jonathon Sessler
  Peter Stang   Cynthia Burrows   Jonathan Sessler


The Stang-Burrows-Sessler Lectureship was established by Jonathan L. Sessler, PhD, Roland J. Pettit Centennial Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas, Austin. Prof. Sessler created the new lectureship to recognize his long-time friends and colleagues Distinguished Professors Peter Stang and Cynthia Burrows, two remarkable researchers in the Chemistry Department. 

The lecture provides a significant new educational and research opportunity for the Department’s students, engaging them with pioneering science from around the United States and the world. The Stang-Burrows-Sessler Lectureship will host leading voices in non-traditional areas of organic chemistry for many years to come.

Cynthia Burrows and Peter Stang with researchers after a seminar

Matthew Sigman, Ben Feringa, Peter Stang, Cynthia Burrows and Jonathan Sessler

University of Utah, September 6, 2022


Stang-Burrows-Sessler Lectures:

Yamuna Krishnan, University of Chicago - Intracellular electrophysiology - February 1, 2024

Jack Szostak, University of Chicago - Copying RNA without Enzymes: Insights from Structural Studies - January 30, 2024

Nobel Laureate Ben L. Feringa, University of Groningen - Frontiers of Science - The Art of Building Small - September 6, 2022

Thomas Carell, University of Munich - DNA Bases beyond Watson and Crick  - April 26, 2018

Makoto Fujita, University of Tokyo - Coordination Self-Assembly: From the Origins to the Latest Advances - March 15, 2018

Josef Michl, UCB - Arrays of Molecular Rotors - September 27, 2016

Jonathan Sessler, University of Texas at Austin - Expanded Porphyrins: A Personal Journey - April 1, 2016


Last Updated: 1/8/24